## Fourth International Conference on Fission and Properties of Neutron-Rich Nuclei Sanibel Island, Florida November 11-17, 2007

#### First Announcement

The Fourth International Conference on Fission and Properties of Neutron-Rich Nuclei will be held November 11-17, 2007, Sanibel Island, Florida. Previous conferences were held in 1997 and 2002 on Sanibel Island, and at St. Andrews, Scotland in 1999. This announcement is a first call by the Advisory Committee to learn of your interest in attending and to request suggestions for invited talks. You may obtain further information through the Conference Secretary at the address below. The conference will consist of invited papers, contributed papers, and a poster session with all papers being included in published proceedings. The conference is being sponsored by Vanderbilt University, UNIRIB, Center of Excellence for Radioactive Ion Beam Studies for Stewardship Science, Oak Ridge Associated Universities, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, and the Joint Institute for Heavy Ion Research.

This fourth conference in this series will emphasize the following areas in both theory and experiment:

**Fission Modes and Reactions**: Particle induced fission, spontaneous fission, bimodal fission, Coulomb fission, and fusion-fission.

**Fission Processes:** Isotopic and energy distributions, neutron multiplicities, spin distributions, cold fission (cluster radioactivity), ternary fission, and fission isomers.

**Properties of Neutron Rich Nuclei:** Decay properties, masses, nuclear structure, and nuclear astrophysics.

Fragmentation and Accelerated Beams of Neutron Rich Nuclei: Coulomb excitation, transfer reactions, deep inelastic collisions, and present and future prospects for radioactive ion beams.

The conference expects to have limited funds for scholarships to provide partial support for graduate students and young scientists. Letters and nominations should be sent to the Chair no later than June 1, 2007.

The next announcement will provide additional details on abstract submission, travel, conference registration and hotel registration which you must make directly with the Sundial. A registration fee of \$450 will include breakfasts, lunches, banquet, and proceedings.

#### **Venue and Accommodations:**

The conference will be held on Sanibel Island off the southern coast of Florida in November when the weather is excellent (75–80° F) and the Gulf still warm enough for swimming and sea shelling. The conference center, Sundial Beach Resort, is directly on the beach and has many additional sports opportunities including: sail boats, swimming pools, tennis, golf, bicycling, and an exercise room. There is a nature reserve where one can go by canoe, bicycle, or car to observe

wildlife and the Florida Everglades are less than an hour away. The Sundial holds activities for children. A conference-hosted excursion will be provided to an outer island.

The accommodations, to be made by you directly with the Sundial, are one-bedroom (garden view \$179 + 11% tax; gulf view \$199 + 11% tax and two-bedroom, two-bath (gulf view \$259 + 11% tax) condominiums with kitchens and living areas. The two-bedroom apartments can be shared as each room has a bath. Details for reservations and the sharing of apartments will be discussed in the next announcement.

Conference Website: <a href="http://www.orau.org/fission/">http://www.orau.org/fission/</a>
Sundial Resort Website: <a href="http://www.sundialresort.com">http://www.sundialresort.com</a>
Sanibel Island Website: <a href="http://www.mysanibel.com">http://www.mysanibel.com</a>

Additional information can be obtained from:

Amy Anderson, Conference Secretary Oak Ridge Associated Universities MS 17 P.O. Box 117 Oak Ridge, TN 37831-0117 fission@orau.org

phone: (865) 576-8761 fax: (865) 241-3168

Please distribute this announcement to colleagues who may not have received it. Also, please return the following questionnaire by May 1 **by replying** to this e-mail or to the conference secretary. We particularly call your attention to suggestions for invited speakers including yourself.

Name:
Address:
E-mail address:
Expect to attend the conference: Yes No Probably
Wish to receive future announcements Yes No
I suggest the following talk/speaker:
I would like to speak on the following topic (a brief abstract will be helpful).

### **International Advisory Committee:**

Joseph H. Hamilton, Chair, <u>j.h.hamilton@vanderbilt.edu</u> Ken Carter, Co-Chair, <u>carterhk@ornl.gov</u>

Ani Aprahamian, <a href="mailto:aapraham@nsf.gov">aapraham@nsf.gov</a>

Juha Äystö, juha.aysto@cern.ch

Jon Batchelder, jon.batchelder@orau.org

C. W. Beausang, cbeausan@richmond.edu

Rafael J. Broda, rafal.broda@ifj.edu.pl

Peter Butler, peter.butler@liverpool.ac.uk

Richard Casten, rick@riviera.physics.yale.edu

Lakshman Chaturvedi, lakshman1944@rediffmail.com

Douglas Cline, cline@nsrl.rochester.edu

Jerry D. Cole, jerald.cole@inl.gov

Jolie A. Cizewski, cizewski@rutgers.edu

A. Covello, covello@na.infn.it

George D. Dracoulis, george.dracoulis@anu.edu.au

Amand Faessler, amand.faessler@uni-tuebingen.de

Sydney Gales, <a href="mailto:gales@in2p3.fr">gales@in2p3.fr</a>

T. Glasmacher, glasmacher@nscl.msu.edu

Paulo Gomes, paulogom@if.uff.br

Walter Greiner, greiner@th.physik.uni-frankfurt.de

Konstantin A. Gridney, gridney@nuclpc1.phys.spbu.ru

Robert Grzywacz, rgrzywac@utk.edu

Koichi Hagino, hagino@nucl.phys.tohoku.ac.jp

Franz-Josef Hambsch, <a href="mailto:hambsch@irmm.jrc.be">hambsch@irmm.jrc.be</a>

S. Hoffman, S. Hofmann@gsi.de

Robert V. F. Janssens, janssens@anlphy.phy.anl.gov

Jan Kliman, Jan.Kliman@savba.sk

Wojciech Krolas, Wojciech.Krolas@ifj.edu.pl

I. Y. Lee, iylee@lbl.gov

Yixiao Luo, yluo@lbl.gov

W. C. Ma, mawc@ra.msstate.edu

Ken-ichi Matsuyanagi, ken@ruby.scphys.kyoto-u.ac.jp

Witold Nazarewicz, witek@utk.edu

Yuri Oganessian, oganessian@flnr.jinr.ru

D. Poenariu, poenaru@ifin.nipne.ro

John O. Rasmussen, oxras@berkeley.edu

Lee L. Riedinger, <u>lrieding@utk.edu</u>

Mark Riley, mriley@nucmar.physics.fsu.edu

Ernst Roeckl, e.roeckl@gsi.de

Amit Roy, roy@iuac.ernet.in

K. Rykacewski, rykaczew@phy.ornl.gov

Bradley M. Sherrill, sherrill@nscl.msu.edu

Gavin Smith, Gavin.Smith@manchester.ac.uk

Michael S. Smith, <a href="msmith@mail.phy.ornl.gov">msmith@mail.phy.ornl.gov</a>
G. M. Ter-Akopian, <a href="Gurgen.TerAkopian@jinr.ru">Gurgen.TerAkopian@jinr.ru</a>
C. Wagemans, <a href="Cyrillus.Wagemans@UGent.be">Cyrillus.Wagemans@UGent.be</a>
Michael Wiescher, <a href="wiescher.1@nd.edu">wiescher.1@nd.edu</a>
Shengjiang Zhu, <a href="mail.tsinghua.edu.cn">zhushj@mail.tsinghua.edu.cn</a>
Wen-Long Zhan, <a href="mail.tsinghua.edu.cn">zhanw1@impcas.ac.cn</a>

# **Local Organizing Committee:**

Carrol Bingham, <a href="mailto:cbingham@utk.edu">cbingham@utk.edu</a>
H. K. Carter, <a href="mailto:carterhk@ornl.gov">carterhk@ornl.gov</a>
J. H. Hamilton, <a href="mailto:j.h.hamilton@vanderbilt.edu">j.h.hamilton@vanderbilt.edu</a>
A. V. Ramayya, <a href="mailto:a.v.ramayya@vanderbilt.edu">a.v.ramayya@vanderbilt.edu</a>
Jeff Winger, <a href="mailto:j.a.winger@msstate.edu">j.a.winger@msstate.edu</a>
E. F. Zganjar <a href="mailto:zganjar@rouge.phys.lsu.edu">zganjar@rouge.phys.lsu.edu</a>