April 20, 2005 • Center for Continuing Education • University of Notre Dame

yxn pz u qa rts

Organizers

osmologue

Prof. Ani Aprahamian

PHYSICS AND PHILOSOPHICAL

Prof. Don Howard

Prof. Grant Mathews

Prof. Michael Wiescher

Chair, Department of Physics, University of Notre Dame

Director of the Graduate Program in History and Philosophy of Science, Reilly Center for Science, Technology and Values, University of Notre Dame

Director of the Center for Astrophysics (CANDU), University of Notre Dame

Director of the Joint Institute for Nuclear Astrophysics, University of Notre Dame, University of Chicago, and Michigan State University

FEATURED SPEAKERS

Yuri Balashov, Department of Philosophy, University of Georgia, USA • Ikaros Bigi, Department of Physics, University of Notre Dame, USA Harvey Brown, Faculty of Philosophy and Wolfson College, Oxford University • Jeremy Butterfield, Faculty of Philosophy and All Souls College, Oxford University Sean Carroll, Department of Physics, University of Chicago, USA • Peter Garnavich, Department of Physics, University of Notre Dame, USA Joel Primack, Department of Physics, University of California, USA • Bill Stoeger, Vatican Observatory, University of Arizona, USA

Contact: (574) 631-6788 • www.jinaweb.org • (574) 631-5015 • reilly@nd.edu

Sponsored by: JINA (Joint Institute of Nuclear Astrophysics: an NSF Physics frontier center) CANDU (Center for Astrophysics at Notre Dame) Department of Physics History & Philosophy of Science Graduate Program





ERSPECTIVES